The Damm Garrison, Dover’s oldest residence, ca. 1675, was on Spruce Lane when Ellen Rounds acquired it. She restored the house and spent 35 years collecting 800+ period tools, implements, and furnishings for its interior. In October 1915, with a crew of four men and one horse, the house was rolled on logs, a few feet every day, to its present site at the Museum. The protective white canopy now covering the house, designed by J. Edward Richardson, was completed by the Museum’s opening day, July 26, 1916. Visitors may explore both floors and view the now over 1000 artifacts on display inside.