Inside the Museum’s 1675 Damm Garrison, Dover’s oldest home, is an extensive collection of historical items, many from colonial times. Mrs. Ellen Rounds, a lineal descendant of the garrison’s original owners, donated not only the house, but also the majority of the artifacts which visitors can see inside today. Between 1887 and 1915, she collected over 800 household and furniture items to fill the interior spaces. She called them “precious mementos of ye olden time”. These cooking utensils include cast iron pots and pans, kettles and baking tins, a large Dutch oven and a shovel-like baking peel to slide items in and out of the fire.