Location, Hours and About Us
*The last museum tour departs at 3:30pm. Please arrive no later than that.*
The Thom Hindle Gallery at the Keefe House at the Woodman, 15 Summer Street, Dover, NH is open for special exhibitions.
For more information, please contact us.
The Woodman Museum will be closed on the following holidays:
The Woodman Museum and its historic homes currently offer limited accessibility. Renovation changes are being implemented as the Museum works to meet ADA compliance. For information on visiting call 603-742-1038.
The Woodman Museum welcomes all community, academic, and tourist groups for a guided visit, led by trained Museum educators and volunteers.Please note that advance reservations are required for all adult and student groups of ten or more. Guided-visit appointments should be made no less than one week in advance of the requested visit date.
Students of all ages will discover unique artifacts that explore art, science, and history of the Dover region when visiting the Woodman Museum. We request one chaperone for every ten students.
If you would like to make a reservation for a guided group tour, please click here.
Adult Students/Teachers/Seniors/Military $10
Child/Students ages 4 – 17: $7
EBT Card Families $3 each
Children (3 and under): Free
Adult Students/Teachers/Seniors/Military $8
Child/Students ages 4 – 17: $5
The Woodman Museum is a 15-minute walk from the Amtrak station. For information on visiting Dover, NH via Amtrak, to visit ClickHere
Take Route 95 to Route 16 to exit 8E. Follow the ramp onto Silver Street. Go to the end and turn right onto Central Ave. Follow the signs to the Woodman Museum, 182 Central Avenue, Dover, NH.
Free parking is available on Central Avenue and Summer Street, Dover, NH.
Born in nearby Rochester NH, John Parker Hale is best known as the first avowed Abolitionist Senator in the United States. It is an odd irony that, in the two decades Hale was in the Senate, Dover profited from the manufacture of cotton products that were produced by Southern slave labor. Living in William’s own house, Hale took a solid stand against slavery - a position that earned him enmity from Southern leaders, even a death threat on the Senate floor from a colleague. It also earned Hale a statue in 1892 on the lawn of the state capitol in Concord, NH, where his figure now stands with Daniel Webster, President Franklin Pierce and John Stark.
Today, the collections throughout two of the three floors of the Hale House are arranged into galleries displaying Hale Family artifacts, local and regional history, New England period furniture, fine and decorative arts and more.
The younger Charles Woodman inherited the estate from his mother. A successful financier and manager of the Strafford Savings Bank, he resided here throughout his life. He married twice: his first wife, Hannah (Coffin) Woodman, died in 1854 and in 1856 he married Annie (Allen) Woodman. When she died in January 1915, Annie Woodman left the sum of $100,000 “for the establishment …of an institution for the promotion of education in science and art and the increase and dissemination of general and especially historical knowledge.” The trustees of the estate acquired the Woodman house and the adjoining Hale House, which by chance came on the market that same year. The renovation of the interior was directed by local architect J. Edward Richardson, and the Institute opened in July, 1916.
Today, the collections throughout the three floors of the Woodman House are arranged into galleries displaying natural science (mounted specimens, rocks and minerals, fossils, seashells), Native American culture, military history, “childhood” history (schools, Scouting, toys, games and dolls), seasonal themed exhibits and more.
In 1915, Col. Daniel Hall (the founding Head Trustee of the Woodman Museum) had an interview with Mrs. Rounds and broached the matter of having the garrison and its contents removed to the grounds of the Woodman Museum. The proposition proved to be acceptable to her; in due time she made a formal gift of the Damm garrison to the Museum. Daniel Chesley was entrusted with the task of removing the house to its new home; it took him one week, using wooden rollers and a horse, to move the garrison to the grounds. Local architect J. Edward Richardson directed the construction of the protective outer “colonnade” building that surronds and protects the garrison currently.
Today, the collections throughout the two floors of the William Damm Garrison House are arranged into galleries displaying local Colonial and Early American history.
Today, the first floor of the Keefe House (the Thom Hindle Gallery) features rotating artist and artisan exhibitions throughout the year. The second floor of the Keefe House (the Robert Whitehouse Library) serves as administrative offices and a climate controlled archive. The attached two story Carriage Barn houses local and regional transportation, trades, farm, and household collections.